Commands in Style

Topics: Prism v2 - Silverlight 3
Apr 23, 2010 at 11:46 AM

Hi,

I am new to PRISM archtecture and need help/views on this issue. In my application, there is a requirement of a button inside the TabHeader. The click on the button should close the TabItem (much like IE). To do this, I have two approaches:-

1:- Create a region in the HeaderTemplate for TabHeader, and place the button inside the region through "RegisterViewWithRegion" method in the Initialize method of viewmodel class(derived from IModule) of corresponding module . 

<Style x:Key="TabItemHeaderStyle" TargetType="basics:TabItem">
        <Setter Property="HeaderTemplate">
            <Setter.Value>
                <DataTemplate>
                    <Grid  >
                        <Grid.ColumnDefinitions>
                            <ColumnDefinition  Width="*"/>
                            <ColumnDefinition  Width="Auto"/>
                        </Grid.ColumnDefinitions>
                        <TextBlock Grid.Column="0" Text="{Binding TabHeader}" HorizontalAlignment="Center" Margin="0,0,2,0"></TextBlock>
                        <ContentControl Grid.Column="1" regions:RegionManager.RegionName="CancelRegion"  Margin="0,0,8,0"/>
                    </Grid>
                </DataTemplate>
            </Setter.Value>
        </Setter>
    </Style>

In the module class 
regionManager.RegisterViewWithRegion("CancelRegion", typeof(CancelButton));

2:- Place the button inside the Style and Handle it's Click Via commanding:-

<Style x:Key="TabItemHeaderStyle" TargetType="basics:TabItem">
        <Setter Property="HeaderTemplate">
            <Setter.Value>
                <DataTemplate>
                    <Grid>
                        <Grid.ColumnDefinitions>
                            <ColumnDefinition  Width="*"/>
                            <ColumnDefinition  Width="Auto"/>
                        </Grid.ColumnDefinitions>