Composite UI and Menus

Topics: Prism v2 - WPF 4, Prism v4 - WPF 4
Aug 23, 2010 at 2:17 PM

I'm fairly new to prism and have undertaken a WPF project using it. A concept that I have not come across so far is the idea of having a standard Menu bar in the Shell but having Menu Items populated by Prism modules so that commands in said modules can be triggered from the menu. I would have thought that a module could have a "menu view" that injects into the menu bar just like you can inject a view into a ContentControl or TabControl but I can't see how to do this currently. Has anyone tried to do something similar?

Aug 24, 2010 at 12:45 PM

Just the question that was formulating in my mind as I start the planning of a rewrite to an application I wrote a few years ago using CAB.
(This previous one being generated for me by Deklarit)
Anyway, I think the main idea is to hide the implementation of the controls used to provide the menu - whether you might use MS ones, or those from DevExpress or Infragistics, etc.
So it seems to me that the module needs to request its menus via a service - then developers in the team developing modules need no references to actual UI controls. The modules need to subscribe to events to receive the users actions.

That’s what I’m looking into, so if others have more words of wisdom, I think both of us would like to hear.

Aug 24, 2010 at 12:57 PM

Now I've been reminded of the correct terms, heres a question posted here

and the authors project

Aug 24, 2010 at 6:27 PM

I would go about this by creating a menu module that encapsulates the display of MenuControl in its proper region [i.e. MenuBarRegion etc.]. The MenuModule will also expose a Service [e.g. IMenuService] that lets other modules add MenuGroups and SubGroups to the Menu Instance managed by the module. You'd need to make sure MenuModule loads before any other modules.