Big Business App + Prism + Regions

Topics: Prism v4 - Silverlight 4
Oct 15, 2010 at 9:41 PM
Edited Oct 15, 2010 at 9:45 PM

Hy guys,

I'm starting to rewrite a big business application, and I am considering to use Prism with Silverlight.

I studied the prism, I saw some videos and got some doubts:

The basic of my app is that i have a main page (Shell), with a main region. In that region i'll load the Modules. For Exemple:

When i click in the Customer button, i ll load the CusomerModule, and show the CustomerView in the MainRegion

When i Click in the Contact button, i ll load the ContactModule, and show the ContactView in the MainRegion.

All modules will be loaded "OnDemand".

Here my doubts:

1 - I register the CustomerView in the MainRegion, but when i go to the ContactsView, the CostomerView is sitll "Active"?

2 - How can i reload the CustomerView? i dont need only to show that the CustomerView again, because the user can do lots of things in that view, and when he come back to that view, i need to reload that.

3 - In a big app with lots of modules and views, isnt that a problem? lots of views crteated and in memory?

4 - Is there a better solution for that kind of app?

thx.

Oct 17, 2010 at 6:07 PM

Hi, you can remove the views in the region first where you intend to insert a new view. This might help -

if (RegionManager.Regions["RegionName"] != null)
            {
                List<object> views = new List<object>(RegionManager.Regions["RegionName"].Views);

foreach (object view in views)
                {
                    RegionManager.Regions["RegionName"].Remove(view);
                }
            }

Oct 18, 2010 at 12:56 PM

Ok, i now i know how to remove the views from my region, but i need more information about the oder questions plz.

3 - In a big app with lots of modules and views, isnt that a problem? lots of views crteated and in memory?

Oct 18, 2010 at 10:06 PM

Hi,