Views with child/nested views

Topics: Prism v4 - Silverlight 4
Nov 2, 2010 at 1:13 PM

Hi,

I am relatively new to Prism and using prism 4 drop 10 and MEF.  Can some one help me find a way to create views that itself comprised of child views.

when I add a region name i Get an exception while trying to create the parent view.

This is what I tried on my First view that is on the shell:

<Border x:Name="EditGrid" Grid.Row="2" Grid.Column="2" BorderThickness="2" BorderBrush="#99FFFFFF" CornerRadius="10"Margin

="3" Regions:RegionManager.RegionName="MasterDataEditRegion"/>

I spent a while searching on the net, but didn't find any example on how this can be done.. 

Is this something we can do in the Prism ?

Regards, Kiran

Nov 2, 2010 at 6:43 PM

Hi Kiran,

Nice to see that you are using Prism 4. To expose a UI control as a region (Border), it is necessary to use a region adapter, since they are responsible for the creation of the region and associating it to the control. Prism provides you with three region adapters out-of-the-box:

• ContentControlRegionAdapter. This adapter adapts controls of type System.Windows.Controls.ContentControl and derived classes.
  • SelectorRegionAdapter. This adapter adapts controls derived from the class System.Windows.Controls.Primitives.Selector, such as the System.Windows.Controls.TabControl control.
  • ItemsControlRegionAdapter. This adapter adapts controls of type System.Windows.Controls.ItemsControl and derived classes.

Since the Border control does not derive from any aforementioned UI Control, you can not expose it as a region without create a custom region adapter. Otherwise, you will receive an exception. If you want to create a custom region adapter, you could take a look at the following documentation section on MSDN: How to: Create a Custom Region Adapter

Hope this helps.

Fernando Antivero
http://blogs.southworks.net/fantivero

Nov 2, 2010 at 7:24 PM
Edited Nov 3, 2010 at 2:58 AM

Fernando Antivero,