Need help navigating to seperate modules

Topics: Prism v4 - Silverlight 4
Apr 12, 2011 at 4:20 PM

Hi,

I am new to Prism and MEF but I am in need of assistance with an application that I am creating. I have a large application that is built with multiple modules. The first module that shows is a login screen. Once user has entered a login, I need the application to load a view from another module within the shell. I have been stuck on this for the past few days. There are plenty of examples of navigating views within the same module but I have not found any examples of navigating views within seperate modules. Can someone direct me to an example please.

Thanks!

Developer
Apr 12, 2011 at 4:52 PM
Edited Apr 12, 2011 at 4:53 PM

Hi,

As Region Navigation is designed to be able to navigate between loosely coupled views, there should be no difference between navigating to a view in a separate module, as you only need to pass a Uri to the RequestNavigate method.

You could check the View-Switching Navigation QuickStart, which might be useful to learn more about this.

I hope you find this helpful.

Guido Leandro Maliandi
http://blogs.southworks.net/gmaliandi

Apr 12, 2011 at 7:20 PM
Edited Apr 12, 2011 at 7:22 PM

Thanks for the reply Guido but I am coming across some annoying errors. I cant even seem to load up the login module as the first page. Im not even on the navigation part yet. I have copied the code exactly as it shows on the View-Switching Navigation Quickstart solution. Here is what I have, maybe you can see what I am not:

LoginView

[Export(

"LoginView")]
    public partial class LoginView : UserControl
    {
        public LoginView()
        {

InitializeComponent();
        }

}

Bootstrapper

public class Bootstrapper : MefBootstrapper
    {

protected override DependencyObject CreateShell()
        {
            return this.Container.GetExportedValue<Shell>();
        }

protected override void ConfigureAggregateCatalog()
        {