Loading modules during runtime.

Topics: Prism v4 - WPF 4
May 31, 2011 at 11:00 AM
Edited May 31, 2011 at 12:57 PM

Hello.

I'm really new in Prism and how to create modular applications.

I'm using WPF with Prism 4.0 and MEF. In a view a user can select modules. Each module is in a separate DLL and all of them in the same directory. 

Each module also implements an interface which i export. With ImportMany i get an array of this interface in the shell.

When the user click on an OK-Button i want to load these modules. To do that, i create a new ModulCatalog and return this catalog with eventaggregation to my Shell.

Now, the shell should load these modules.

My problem is, i dont't get the modules loaded. I know i could set the InitializationMode of the modules onDemand and load all modules in the bootstrapper. But in this case i have to many values in the imported interface-array.

I only wan't to import the values of the loaded modules.

I have the following code so far.

[Export]
public partial class Shell : Window, IPartImportsSatisfiedNotification
{
[Import]
IModuleManager ModuleManager { get; set; }

[Import]
IModuleCatalog ModuleCatalog { get; set; }

//Holds some information of the loaded modules
[ImportMany(typeof(IViewNames), AllowRecomposition=true)]
IViewNames[] ViewNames { get; set; }

//Some other code....

private void InvokeNavigationView(ModuleSelectionReadyPayload _payload)
{
//The modules i want to load
IModuleCatalog catalog = _payload.ModuleConfigCatalog;

//Add each Modul to the ModuleCatalog created in the Bootstrapper
foreach (ModuleInfo item in catalog.Modules)
{
ModuleCatalog.AddModule(item);
}
//Load the Modules
ModuleManager.Run();
}
}

But ModuleManager.Run() throws an exception

There is currently no moduleTypeLoader in the ModuleManager that can retrieve the specified module.

I have no idea how to create such a moduletypeloader. Why the modulemanager doesn't use the typeloaders it already has?