RequestNavigate - Create view

Topics: Prism v4 - WPF 4
Sep 16, 2011 at 4:34 PM

I’m fairly new to prism, and I’m currently re-writing one of our existing applications using prism as a proof of concept project.

The application uses MVVM with a ViewModel first approach: Our ViewModel is resolved by the container, and an IViewResolver service figures out what view it should be wired up to (Using name conventions amongst other things)

The code (to add a view to a tab control) at the moment looks something like this:

var vm = (..get ViewModel from somewhere)
IRegion reg = _regionManager.Regions["MainRegion"];
var vw = _viewResolver.FromViewModel(vm); // Spins up a view and sets its DataContext
reg.Add(vw);
reg.Activate(vw);

..which all works fine, however I’d really like to use the Prism navigation framework to do all this stuff for me, so I could do something like:

_regionManager.RequestNavigate(“MainRegion”, new Uri(“NameOfMyViewModel”, UriKind.Relative));

and have Prism spin up the view model + view, set the DataContext and Inject the view. I’ve had some success by creating DataTemplates referencing the ViewModel types

ie:
<ResourceDictionary xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/winfx/2006/xaml/presentation"
xmlns:x="http://schemas.microsoft.com/winfx/2006/xaml"
xmlns:local="clr-namespace:Module01">
<DataTemplate DataType="{x:Type local:TestViewModel}">
<local:TestView />
</DataTemplate>
</ResourceDictionary>

...and have the module add the relevant resource dictionary into the applications resources when the module is initialized, but that seems a bit rubbish.

Is there a way to effectively take over view creation from Prism, so that when a view is requested I can supply one? There’s an overload of RegionManager.RegisterViewWithRegion that takes a delegate that allows you to supply a view yourself, and I guess I’m after something like that.