Can't get a simple example with a region to work

Topics: Prism v4 - WPF 4
Apr 17, 2012 at 7:01 PM
Edited Apr 17, 2012 at 7:31 PM

I am new to WPF and Prism with MVVM, and I am trying to experiment with regions.  I have a simple learning project with a shell that contains a grid.  Cell 0,0 of the grid contains a stackPanel which is designated as a region.  My intention is to inject into the region a view which consists of nothing more than a canvas with a red background.  What I get instead is text which follows:

Resolution of the dependency failed, type = "simpletest.Modules.Views.ucanvas", name = "(none)".

I have read the Prism 4.1 document and I have experiemnted with the Quickstarts.  I am trying to adapt what I have learned in the Quickstarts, but progress is slow.  Can anybody point me to a very simple example of injecting of simple content (not data) into a named region?

My failed code, as goofy as it may be, follows:

using Microsoft.Practices.Prism.Modularity;
using Microsoft.Practices.Prism.Regions;
using Microsoft.Practices.Unity;

using simpletest.Modules.Models;
using simpletest.Modules.Views;

namespace simpletest.Modules.Views
{
  public class ucanvasModule : IModule
  {
    private readonly IRegionManager regionManager;
    private readonly IUnityContainer container;

public ucanvasModule(IUnityContainer container, IRegionManager regionManager)
    {
      this.container = container;
      this.regionManager = regionManager;
    }

public void Initialize()
    {
      this.container.RegisterType<IUnityContainer>(new ContainerControlledLifetimeManager());

this.container.RegisterType<IUnityContainer>(new ContainerControlledLifetimeManager());
      this.regionManager.RegisterViewWithRegion("GridColumn0Row0Region", () => this.container.Resolve<ucanvas>());
    }
  }
}
Developer
Apr 17, 2012 at 8:43 PM

Hi,