Sharepoint 2010 Client Context, Silverlight Web Part

Topics: Prism v4 - Silverlight 4
May 22, 2012 at 6:03 PM

Hello,

I am very new to Sharepoint 2010 and am getting familiar with the Prism architecture. Here is my situation.

My boss would like me to write a silverlight web application that can be hosted in Sharepoint 2010 through a Silverlight Web Part. I would like to use the Prism (MVVM) architecture to develop this application. I have some test applications that seem to be working fine.

My boss wants me to collect the Client Model Object from Sharepoint to get the Current User so that I can pass that into services to retrieve the correct information. Each ViewModel will need to be passed this or collect it.

That is my issue. I am able to get the Current User from Sharepoint in the 'Shell.xaml'. But I would like to gather that information inside the App.xaml.cs to pass to the Bootstrapper class or within the Bootstrapper class. Either way so I can pass it into each of my views. If that cannot be done, I would like to get the information in each of the View's ViewModel class. When I try the latter I get errors referencing my Bootstrapper and not being intialized.

Any suggestions?

Developer
May 22, 2012 at 8:04 PM

Hi,

If I understood currently, you are able to obtain the Current User in your Shell and you want to share that information to the rest of the views / view models in your application. If so, I believe a possible approach could be to define a shared service that would be known by all the views / view models and where the Shell can load the information of the Current User.