Adding UserControls to Region

Topics: Prism v4 - WPF 4
May 26, 2012 at 9:12 PM

Hi,

I'm pretty new to MVVM / Prism and was wondering if someone would be able to tell me whether I am going about this the right way.

I have a user interface that has left hand side and right hand side regions. The user will make a selection in the left hand side region and then the selection's data will be retrieved and displayed in the right hand side region using a custom user control.

I have the modules for each of the two regions getting loaded correctly and events passing between them using the event aggregator. My question is regarding the population of the user controls in the right hand side region.

At the moment I am contructing the controls and adding them to an ObservableCollection which is bound to an ItemsControl. To clarify, here is some code illustrating what I'm doing when the right hand region receives a selection.

private void OnAddObjectA(ObjectA objA)
{
    ObjectAViewModel objModel = new ObjectAViewModel(eventAggregator, objA);
    ObjectAView objView = new ObjectAView(objModel);

objectAs.Add(objView);
}

I essentially want to know whether there is a better way of doing this or is my method acceptable within the design pattern?

Sorry if anything is unclear, as I said I'm new to this and not completely sure about the right terminology for everything!

Thanks,

Developer
May 28, 2012 at 3:02 PM

Hi,

There are several ways to achieve this kind of scenarios, which approach you take may depend mostly on your personal preferences and your requirements.

As a suggested approach, I recommend you to check the UI Composition QuickStart provided with Prism.

Also, you could find the samples provided in the Prism Training Kit useful (particularly you could check the Communication Lab samples).

I hope you find this handy,

Agustin Adami
http://blogs.southworks.net/aadami

May 28, 2012 at 3:52 PM

Thanks for the links.