Wish ValidationRules would easily integrate with IDataErrorInfo and ViewModel in MVVM

Topics: Prism v4 - WPF 4
Jul 16, 2012 at 3:55 PM
Edited Jul 16, 2012 at 4:13 PM

I've been looking at validation with Prism for WPF applications. I'm new to validation in WPF in general, but have been looking through various examples and my books. Here's my thoughts.

My WPF book shows data binding validation by implementing your own ValidationRules. I really like this approach because it would allow me to simply implement reusable validation logic rules (e.g. StringIsNotEmpty, IsDirectoryPath) and specify them at the time of binding in the XAML code. Once I wrote my ValidationRules, I would not need any C# code to implement most validation logic. Awesome.

However, if you think of this in context of MVVM with Prism, this solution is not really acceptable. It relies on the view (UI) to implement the validation logic. Even if you implemented validation logic in the accept command for a form in your ViewModel, there doesn't seem to be a good way to connect the two together, and you would be doing the work for validation twice for no reason.

Of course, the Prism book says that you should be using IDataErrorInfo and there is example of it in the Commanding Quickstart. That example is nicely done. However, the validation logic is hard coded in the ViewModel. This requires me to write code and perhaps leaves me more prone to errors. Sure, I could implement my own static validation functions that are reusable, but it still doesn't seem as eloquent as adding ValidationRules in XAML. Also, similar to the difference between INotifyPropertyChanged and NotifcationObject, hard coded validation on properties breaks after refactoring code changes.