Bundling ViewModel and View.cs with the View xaml

Jul 21, 2012 at 7:17 PM

I'm studying Karl Shifflett's article Prism 4 Region Navigation with Silverlight Frame Navigation and Unity, and found that he somehow bundles the view with the viewmodel along with the view.cs:

How does he do that?

The project is in SL4 Prism 4, but I'd like to have it also in SL5.

Developer
Jul 23, 2012 at 2:01 PM

Hi,

Based on my understanding, in the case you mentioned the view model is set in the view's code behind by using Unity property injection, by defining the [Dependency] attribute to its view model property, like this:

[Dependency]
public InventoryViewModel ViewModel {
get { return this.DataContext as InventoryViewModel; }
set { this.DataContext = value; }

On the other hand, the view uses the DesignInstance to Bind to Data in the Silverlight Designer, in order to provide a good design-time experience in XAML, this is mainly because the view is unaware of its DataContext's which will be assigned at run time.

You could find more information about this, in the following resources:

I hope you find this handy,

Agustin Adami
http://blogs.southworks.net/aadami

Jul 23, 2012 at 4:26 PM
Edited Jul 23, 2012 at 4:27 PM

Hi Agustin. There must be something else, because I did it and didn't get the ViewModel bundled in the explorer as in Karl's project.

Using my version of the UI Composition QuickStart, I did this with the EmployeeSummaryView:

<Grid x:Name="LayoutRoot" d:DataContext="{d:DesignInstance ViewModels:EmployeeSummaryViewModel}">

And in the corresponding .cs file:

public partial class EmployeeSummaryView : UserControl {
    public EmployeeSummaryView() {
        this.InitializeComponent();
    }

[Dependency]
    public EmployeeSummaryViewModel ViewModel {
        get {
            return this.DataContext as EmployeeSummaryViewModel;
        }
        set {
            this.DataContext = value;
        }
    }
}

But the explorer shows this: