multiple views in tabItem using prism

Topics: Prism v4 - WPF 4
Sep 1, 2012 at 11:21 AM

I'm fairly new to Prism. any help would be greatly appreciated. My requirement: every tab I open will have main region to load a grid with some data. depending on requirements, I need to load another view on the left like a searchpanel. (set of vertically aligned dropdowns and a search button). Not all tabs might have this left region.

My question is in terms of organising regions and views. I'm reading about scoped regions, tab's datatemplates to organise views. I'm confused what to use when. please help.

Because not every tab might have left region, I'm not sure how to organise views and regions. desperate for some advice.

Left region doesn't sit outside tab. but within tab.

I have also posted this in stackoverflow. I'm desperate for some help 

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/12211854/multiple-views-in-tabitem-using-prism

Kavya

Sep 3, 2012 at 4:51 AM

Hi Kavya,

What you would need is something like this.

TabItem

• MainView (Loaded in MainRegion)
    • Grid with 2 columns : 1st column a contentcontrol with LeftRegion, 2nd column your datagrid

Now when you load tabitem, if you are using MEF, you could do regionManager.RequestNavigate("MainRegion", new Uri("MainView", UriKind.Relative). Now in the OnNavigatedTo in the MainView you can have your logic to decide which view you want to load in the LeftRegion. And then you just have to do regionManager.RequestNavigate("LeftRegion", new Uri("SomeView", UriKind.Relative), where the regionManager is injected into MainView.

// Load main view in MainRegion
_regionManager.RequestNavigate("MainRegion", new Uri("MainView", UriKind.Relative));

// Main View & ViewModel
[Export("MainView")]
public partial class MainView
{
   [ImportingConstructor]
   public MainView(MainViewModel viewModel)
   {
        InitializeComponent();
        DataContext = viewModel;
   }
}

[Export]
public class MainViewModel : INavigationAware
{