MVVM Modules?

Topics: Prism v4 - WPF 4
Feb 7, 2013 at 6:54 PM
Hi All,

I'm still learning wpf - so its very possible I have been searching for the wrong terms, hence I've not found what I'm looking for!

I've written a small app - a host with a list down the left hand side - just populated with "item 1", "item 2", "item3", etc and a corresponding number, 1, 2, 3 etc...

and a region (I've got this working without prism, just using MEF, which loads a usercontrol into a contentprovider) my problem started with the inability to bind my usercontrol (view) with the viewmodel. I can correctly pass the number of the item selected into the module, but the textblock bound to the property does not update at all. I am calling the RaisePropertyChanged event, which I can see when debugging but still the view does not update.

So this lead me to prism - but I'm having the same problem - I can't seem to find a good [simple] example not written in Silverlight. is it possible to write a module fully using the MVVM model and load it into a host app correctly?

Feb 8, 2013 at 12:51 PM
Hi Scott,

It's possible to implement a implement a module fully using the MVVM pattern, this can be seen in many of the Quickstarts or even in the StockTrader Reference Implementation which are provided with Prism.

Also, for a simple sample to start with, I believe you could check David Hill's Prism Template Pack for Visual Studio 2010 (e.g. the QuickStart Solution MEF)

In my opinion if your modules are correctly loading then I believe that your problem could be related to the wiring of the view model, in which case for more information about this you could check the following section of the documentation:
On the other hand, I recommend you to check the In the Box – MVVM Training which portrays an interactive guidance on the use of the MVVM pattern, an examples using the IOC pattern in WPF applications:
I hope you find this handy,

Agustin Adami
Feb 9, 2013 at 7:10 AM
Hi Agustin,