What would be the best practice to remove a view from a region?

Topics: Prism v4 - WPF 4
Mar 18, 2013 at 8:17 PM
I'm really new to Prism and trying to understand the proper way to remove a view from a region. I have written a simple WPF MVVM Prism application that has one region (MainRegion) with two buttons (Button A and Button B) in Shell view.

Basically when clicking the Button A it will navigate to ViewA. The same way for the Button B, it will navigate to ViewB when it's clicked. These two views are populated in MainRegion. Here is what I register them in IUnityContainer in Initialize():
Public Class MainModule
    Implements IModule

Private ReadOnly _container As IUnityContainer

Public Sub New(container As IUnityContainer)
        Me._container = container
    End Sub

Public Sub Initialize() Implements Microsoft.Practices.Prism.Modularity.IModule.Initialize
        _container.RegisterType(Of Object, View)("ViewA")
        _container.RegisterType(Of Object, View)("ViewB")

End Sub
End Class

Here are codes when clicking Button A and Button B
    Sub ButtonACommandClicked()
        RemoveViews() 'To review all views before navigating
        Dim regionManager = ServiceLocator.Current.GetInstance(Of IRegionManager)()

Dim listUri = New Uri("ViewA", UriKind.Relative)
        regionManager.RequestNavigate("MainRegion", listUri, AddressOf NavigationToViewA)
    End Sub

Sub ButtonBCommandClicked()
        RemoveViews() 'To review all views before navigating

Dim listUri = New Uri("ViewB", UriKind.Relative)
        regionManager.RequestNavigate("MainRegion", listUri, AddressOf NavigationToViewB)
    End Sub

Private Sub RemoveViews()
        Dim views = regionManager.Regions("MainRegion").Views

For Each view In views
    End Sub
Is this the right way to remove the view? If I don't call RemoveView(), the new view that is being navigated will be appended to the existing view loaded before.

Please advise.

Mar 19, 2013 at 4:55 PM