Label 'Texts' and custom combo box values Implementation

Topics: Prism v2 - WPF 3.5
Apr 20, 2009 at 3:49 AM
Hi,

I am new to this library and to WPF in general and would like to ask for your thoughts.

I have started a new WPF project, which is a redevelopment of a previous working project, and decided to use this guidance library.  But am still not clear on how to implement one of my requirements.

My requirement is to have a service registered into our shell and can be used by the modules that we create.  We call this service TermsService.  Basically, since we are creating a project for different countries, we decided to put our 'translatables' (I don't know if this is even a word =) ) into the database.  'Translatables' are used for labels, common combo box values, i.e. Gender, etc.  We did it this way, so instead of creating resources for every culture, we just change the database.  That way, we don't have to recompile anything and the application is mostly controlled by the database.  And this is what the TermsService is for: to provide functions/methods to retrieve the label value from the db by passing a 'termId'.  This is how the 'previous' application (WinForms) was developed which used SCSF.

In the previous version of our application, what it does is on a 'Language' change event, i.e. in runtime, it was changed from English to Chinese, we pass the call method accepting the form/view as parameter.  This method then loops through all the controls inside the form/view and uses the 'termId' stored in the tag of each label control to set the 'Text' property.  But I don't see this as an implementation in WPF.  Hence my confusion.  As much as possible I want to stick to the Model-View-ViewModel pattern which I have already done to most of the modules I created.

So there are two things that I wanted to do which I really can't figure out:

1. I need to recreate a custom combo box which is windows combo box with an additional property  to hold the termId: