Loading Modules from a directory and specifying initializationmode

Topics: Prism v2 - WPF 3.5
Apr 23, 2009 at 3:37 PM
Hi, I'm new to Prism2 and i'm trying to create an app that loads modules from the directory. I'm trying to figure out how to place an attribute of the module to indicate that InitializationMode=WhenAvailable, reason being "DesktopModule" is a module that is OnDemand.

[

Module (ModuleName="AdditionalApp")]
[
ModuleDependency("DesktopModule")]
public class AdditionalAppModule :IModule

{
// some code here
}

Will appreciate your help.

thanks!
j

Apr 23, 2009 at 6:46 PM

Hi J,

If the DesktopModule is loaded OnDemand, and the AdditionalAppModule depends on the DesktopModule I assume you are using code like this in the DesktopModule:

[Module (ModuleName="DesktopModule", OnDemand = true)]
public class DesktopModule :IModule

{
// some code here
}

What you will have to do is mark the AdditionalApp module as OnDemand loaded. This is because it depends on a module that is loaded on demand:

[Module (ModuleName="AdditionalApp", OnDemand = true)]
[ModuleDependency("DesktopModule")]
public class AdditionalAppModule :IModule

{
// some code here
}

I believe you are trying to set InitializationMode=WhenAvailable because that is the exception message thrown if you do not mark the AdditionalApp module as OnDemand. But on the Directory Lookup scenario it is similar to using the OnDemand attribute.

Now depending on what your application does you have two options:

1.       If you load the AdditionalApp module directly, the DesktopModule will automatically be loaded before it, since you have established a dependency.

2.       If you load the DesktopModule you will have to load the AdditionalApp in the DesktopModule initializer.

Please let me know if this helps.

Damian Schenkelman

http://blogs.southworks.net/dschenkelman

Apr 24, 2009 at 1:54 AM
Thanks for the reply Damian.

This is my scenario and what i want to achieve: