Adding and Swapping Multiple Views to a Region

Topics: Prism v2 - Silverlight 2
Jul 20, 2009 at 1:34 PM

Hi,

I am new to Prism and I have a very basic question.

Is there a way to add Multiple Views to a Region maintaining just one of them visible and, when
necessary, swap the contents of the region to another one.

In the first time a view is selected it will created it, the WCF services called, the results
will be stored in the ViewModel and bound to the View Controls.

What I want is to create the views as they area displayed for the first time and then be able to
swap the views. The created views must preserve their contents and visual aspects even when they
are not currently visible.

Thank you in advance

Jul 20, 2009 at 7:06 PM

you could just use a contentcontrol as region and only one of the views will be active at anytime. if you add the views with names then all you have to do is activate one of the view passing the name of the view

Jul 20, 2009 at 7:22 PM

Hi,

I presume you are talking about registering all the views in the Region, like this:

regionManager.RegisterViewWithRegion("ClientAreaRegion", typeof(View1));
  regionManager.RegisterViewWithRegion("ClientAreaRegion", typeof(View2));
  regionManager.RegisterViewWithRegion("ClientAreaRegion", typeof(Viewn));

And then activate a view like this:

region.Activate(view);

There is still a problem. I need to strech the region all over the screen, stretching it
horizontally and vertically. The ContentControl Region Adapter does not do this. I had
to create a ContentPresenterRegionAdapter. With a ContentPresenter I can make the
Region and consequentelly the views displayed stretch in both directions.

I beleive that the registration and activation will work with my custom Region Adapter.

I will check it out and as soon as I can I will let you know the result.

Thank you very much

Jul 20, 2009 at 7:32 PM

Hi,

Maybe the association of views to the Region could be: