How to bind Command to TextChanged event of TextBox?

Topics: Prism v2 - Silverlight 3
Jul 31, 2009 at 12:51 PM
Edited Jul 31, 2009 at 12:53 PM

Hi.

I'm a beginner with Prism, so please forgive me if this question is stupid. I went through a few tutorials and I'm creating my first Silverlight application with Prism. It's composed of a Login screen and a second screen that does CRUD operations on a simple database table.

One feature is to select data using multiple filters, which are defined in TextBoxes (filters like Name, Email, Address, etc). I want to fetch data when the text of any of these textboxes chages. There will be a single command which should be invoked when any of the textboxes' text chages.

The question is how do I bind the command to the TextChanged event?

If I want to bind it to the click event of a button, that's easy, as shown in all tutorials:

<Button Content="Login" commands:Click.Command="{Binding LoginCommand}" />

But what about the TextChanged scenario?

Thanks.

Jul 31, 2009 at 5:59 PM

Hi

For this particular scenario you can create a command via an attached behavior that “monitors” the TextChanged event. Julian Dominguez explains the main concepts of this approach in this post. You can also check out the following post that provides a sample on how to create a command for a Silverlight DataForm particular event:

Another possible approach, if this textbox has a two way binding to a model property, could be subscribing to the property changed event and execute the command from there. This would avoid any view code behind (which is the objective of the XAML command), but saves the trouble of creating the attached behavior.

Please let me know if this helps.

Damian Schenkelman
http://blogs.southworks.net/dschenkelman

Aug 3, 2009 at 8:28 AM

Hi.