Too many regions in my shell

Topics: Prism v2 - Silverlight 2, Prism v2 - Silverlight 3
Aug 27, 2009 at 2:40 PM

Hey,

I'm still a bit of a novice on this and I'm working on my first Silverlight application that uses the composite WPF and Silverlight framework.

The situation I've run into is this, I have a login screen that looks totally different than the rest of my application. Different logo's, background colour, totally different layout. So how do I solve this with only one shell? Do I just change the design of the shell dynamically when I load in the usercontrols when a user logs in, or do I put the layout of the entire page in a Module? That would mean I'd need an area that covers the whole page and other area's overlapping this and that doesn't seem like best practise.  How is this generally solved? I can imagine that my application might have multiple different layouts, am I supposed to put all area's for all parts of the application in one shell? Won't that get very messy?

Anyway I hope you get my point and I'm sure there's a good solution for this, I just have to find it. Thanks for any feedback you can give me and if there's anything that I didnt make clear enough please feel free to ask.

Aug 27, 2009 at 6:32 PM

Hi

It is great that you are trying out Prism! Regarding your question, one possible approach could be having this login screen as a view in a particular module. At runtime, you add this view to the MainRegion of your application (before adding any other view). The user logs in, and based on his credentials, you can load the different modules you require on demand (which is useful, because you might avoid downloading unnecessary modules if a particular user does not have some functionality enabled).