Prism based portal and modularity

Topics: Prism v2 - Silverlight 2, Prism v2 - Silverlight 3, Prism v2 - WPF 3.5
Sep 16, 2009 at 10:16 AM

Hello,

I am new to Prism and I'd like to know why the PRISM has by default some strange architectural limitations: when we are implementing a new module we should know where its views will appear (actual region names). It's seems to be a bit wrong. I want to build modular applications with some of independent modules which cann be shown in different places and can be reused by other teams in their projects. I think it would be nice if we can register regions with views somewhere in one place (for ex. in Shell project). So we can compose different applications based on the same modules as we like. No particular region names should be specified.

Maybe I misunderstand something but that's my point of view for today.

Please correct me if I am worng or give me a piece of advice how this problem could be solved using standard approaches.

Thanks in advance.

Best regards,

Alexander Kalinovski.

Sep 19, 2009 at 5:24 AM

Hi Alexander,

Views are actually the reusable components, ideally they are encapsulated and can standalone.   Event aggregation and shared ViewModels are methods of sharing state/data between views.   Where there are numerous ways to manage your views one way that I use is to have a shell that has only a MainRegion.    Each module holds a main view that serves as the template/layout/regions for various views the module will use - the module.initialize() routine is then responsible for populating the regions with the various views.

The Module places its main view in the shell's MainRegion - the first view placed in the MainRegion will be the default view.   The various module views can be activated which will bring them to the front.