CommandBehaviorBase<T> explanation required

Topics: Prism v2 - Silverlight 4
Sep 23, 2010 at 6:54 PM
Edited Sep 23, 2010 at 6:59 PM

Hi,
I'm new to PRISM and silverlight. And I'm not able to understand the real deal about the CommandBehaviorBase<T> extensions. I've been reading blogs on this topic for two days yet I'm unable to make any bigger and clearer picture out of it. The more I read about it the more unanswered questions raises. So can anyone post some good link[s] that can explain the the very basic concepts about this Class. I know we need it for creating custom behaviors. What I want to know is;

• what differentiate this from Behavior<T> which was part of SL3
  • Is it mainly related to WPF?
  • Is there any other alternate for this in PRISM for silverilght?
  • under what scenarios I'd need it?
  • Can I implement my behaviors for "FrameworkElement"? should that work for every control or do I need to do that for every different control?
  • And can I create behavior using this for some properties of the controls as well if yes then how can I do that? Because most of the blogs I've gone through only talk about Events somehow
  • Last but not the least how can I debug this component, as I've made couple of hello world kind of behaviors for my custom grid but it doesn't work but thing is they don't even flash any kind of error whatsoever.

your every answer will highly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Behavior<T>

Sep 23, 2010 at 7:38 PM

Hi,

Nice to see that you started using Prism. In the latest drop, there is a documentation section dedicated specifically to this topic. So, for more information I would recommend to you to download the latest drop from here, so you could take a look at the following documentation section (this document hasn’t been published online yet):

• Silvelight 3 Command Support (new)

I think this document could cover most of your questions.

I hope this helps,

Fernando Antivero
http://blogs.southworks.net/fantivero