Topics: Prism v4 - WPF 4
Feb 3, 2011 at 9:48 AM

'ello all

I'm new to Prism so please bear with me :)

I am writing a Prism App base on the Stock Trader Example.

What is the recommended way to get an instance of the CompositionContainer in the Bootstrapper?  I'm creating an object outside of the mef framework that I then need to run through the SatisfyImportsOnce method.

Feb 3, 2011 at 5:49 PM

Hi Hein,

MefBootstrapper implements a protected property Container, which is the default instance of the CompositionContainer object.

You can read more about the Bootstrapper in a Prism application here.

I hope you find this information useful.

Miguel Bronzovic

Feb 4, 2011 at 8:15 AM
Edited Feb 4, 2011 at 8:17 AM

Hi there.  Thanx for the reply.

On reading my question again, I see I was not very clear. 

My problem is this.  I'm loading a treeview, so the imports of the viewModel of the treeview are automatically injected.  Then I dynamically load all the items in the tree & create viewModels for them.  Because I'm creating these viewModels, their imports are not injected.

My solution to this is to export the container in the bootstrapper' ConfigureContainer override

protected override void ConfigureContainer()

//Export the CompositionContainer so we can import it if neccesary.

Now the Container is available to be imported by my TreeViewModel, so I can pass it as a parameter in the constructors of the individual viewModels of the treeitems.  Each treeItemViewModel can now run SatisfyImportsOnce(this) to inject their dependencies.

Is this the correct way to do this, or is there a better way?

Mar 24, 2011 at 7:07 PM

Did you ever find a better way to achieve this behavior?  I'm having the same issue and wondering if there is a more efficient way to do this?

Mar 28, 2011 at 3:17 PM