Getting new RegionManager from dynamically loaded module

Topics: Prism v4 - Silverlight 4
Feb 20, 2011 at 7:36 PM

I started learning Prsim V4 using the Prism V4 Navigation integration with Silverlight navigation project.  My plan was to create a new moduel based on the inventory module as it demonstrates lots of great concepts.

The problem I am having is I'm trying to use the region manager request navigate function from a view model in a dynamically loaded module and it fails right away.

_regionManager.RequestNavigate(RegionNames.MainContentRegion, Constants.AdministrationHomeView, PostNavigationCallback);

void PostNavigationCallback(NavigationResult navigationResult)
        {
            if (navigationResult.Result == true)
                MessageBox.Show("Navigation Successful");
            else
                MessageBox.Show("Navigation Failed");
        }

In the post navigation call back I noticed that the NavigationResult objects context property does not have a reference to a navigation service. 
It looks like I am not getting a reference to the region manager from the shell application.

In the ctor of my view model I am importing the region manager. It does get set to a valid object however it is not the region manager from the shell.

[ImportingConstructor]
public UserViewModel(
      IRegionManager regionManager
      )
{

_regionManager = regionManager;

}

My view model is implementing the following interfaces: 
INavigationAwareIPageTitleIRegionMemberLifetime

If there is any additional information that I can provide please let me know.
Feb 21, 2011 at 8:09 PM

Hi,

I try to reproduce your scenario using the Exercise 3 Hands-On-Lab solution, located in the Navigation folder of the Prism Training Kit

In ModuleA, in the ModuleANavigationItemView on the Button_Click event I do this:

var uri = new Uri(ViewNames.ModuleAView, UriKind.Relative);
regionManager.RequestNavigate(RegionNames.MainRegion, uri, PostCallBack);