Re-using a View in multiple use-cases

Oct 2, 2008 at 9:38 AM
Hi all,

I'm new to Prism so please excuse any daft questions! I did lots of work on a CAB implementation last year, and have been looking at the Stock Trader Reference Implementation.

My questions are:

1. I noticed in the RI that PresenterModels are accessing the Controllers (PositionSummaryPresentationModel). This was frowned upon in CAB - tight coupling a View/Presenter pair to the Controller removed all re-use from that View in different use-cases. What is the guidance here?

Lets say I have a really re-usable view like selecting from a list of Customers. And I need to use it in a lot of use-cases - say finding orders, viewing accounts.
In old-skool CAB I used to raise an event scoped locally to my WorkItem - CustomerSelected. How would this scenario work in Prism?

A few options I can think of:

1. Use the EventAggregator and have the orders view subscribe to the CustomerSelected event raised by the CustomerList view... Not sure how this would work without being able to scope events to a particular use-case though.

2. Have a controller with a 'CustomerSelected' method. The Customer List can then call this method. The controller would have to implement an interface to allow the CustomerList to be used across different controllers though. Seems like effort, and links into my first point above. Should views / presentermodels be allowed to access the controllers directly?

3. Create a simple CustomerList user-control and just embed it directly into the Xaml for the OrderFinder, or the AccountViewer. Have both controls subscribe to a CustomerSelected event which that control raises.

3 seems like a really simple option to me. It's still testable as you could call the CustomerSelected event directly on each use-case which consumes the CustomerList.

Has anyone else has come across these issues? If so how have you tackled them? Am I just thinking too deep here!!

Thanks,

Graeme

Oct 2, 2008 at 8:16 PM