IMO, Having different namespaces (e.g. *.Desktop or *.Silverlight) is not very good idea

Dec 7, 2008 at 7:58 PM

I started playing with Prism v2 drop 7 today and I notice that having different namespace  (e.g. *.Desktop or *.Silverlight) is giving me a lot of problems in compiling the linked files.  I'm thinking to share ModulesCatalog.xaml in both WPF and SIlverlight project but I can't because the Prism assembly (Microsoft.Practices.Composite.Silverlight and Microsoft.Practices.Composite.Desktop) for WPF and Silverlight are different.

Creating the modules under different namespace is not very good. For example: I like to share some class files (e.g. Bootstrapper.cs, PresentationModels or etc) but I always need to change the namespace since I created the projects like CALSample.Shell and CALSample.Desktop or etc..

So, I think it would be the best if we can have the same namespaces for both WPF and Silverlight. What's your thoughts?

Dec 8, 2008 at 4:15 PM
Hi Michael,

I shared your concerns (trying to figure out how to share via linked files) - I then stumbled upon the QuickStarts\MultiTargingQuickstart and all was revealed :) 

In a nutshell they create the "Project names" with the .Desktop and .Silverlight extensions but the namespaces themselves don't contain the extensions (they strip them off of the project namespace configuration) so there is only one consistent namespace for both sides.

FYI, I had started with the QuickStarts\Visual Composition\TopDownUIComposition (we're moving to Separated Presentation Pattern for our next project) which threw me a curve because in this project the Desktop code is the source and the Silverlight files link to them - which is how I started.   At least until I read in the documentation that P&P recommends making the Silverlight code the source and have the desktop link to them.   Consistent with P&P our team will develop for Silverlight and link from desktop (for MultiTargeted applications).