Showing a view in a region vs a modal dialog

Topics: Prism v2 - Silverlight 2, Prism v2 - WPF 3.5
Feb 23, 2009 at 9:02 AM
Hi guys

I'm pretty new to this stuff right now and was wondering if you had any guidance or comments on the following simple scenario:

I have a list of customers displayed in my MainContent region. I want the user to be able to edit or add a new customer. So in the edit (or add) command I create a Presenter and View for the edit operation, then add it to a Region obtained from the region manager.

Now, if I wanted to present this edit customer view in a Modal dialog would I basically need to code my own IRegion to that is would use a new window rather than a Content control in the Shells main window? That way I guess, if at some point in the future I wanted to present the editable view in a Panel on the main window that obscures the list of customers I could just change the implementation of the Region.

Does this sound as though I'm on the right track?

Of course, one slight complication is that displaying a modal dialog usually turns editing  in to a synchronous operation. how would IRegion.Add() and IRegion.Activate() do this?

Hmm, I'm struggling a bit here!!
Mar 5, 2009 at 1:57 PM
Edited Mar 5, 2009 at 1:59 PM

Hi

The Prism-v2 Desktop Reference Implementation shows an example on how to show a view in a different window by showing the NewsReaderWindow. To see how this works you can debug the ArticleView.xaml code behind, starting with the OpenButton_Click handler method. The ArticleView is located News module inside the Article folder.

To access the Reference Implementation you must open the folder where Prism-v2 was decompressed and open $DecompressionDirectory$\RI\StockTraderRI_Desktop.sln solution.