Command binding problem - Outlook sample in SL

Topics: Prism v2 - Silverlight 2
Mar 11, 2009 at 7:24 AM
I've been banging my head against the keyboard for a while now, and I'm probably missing something really obvious...

(Should also note that I'm new to Prism, so I'm still trying to get my head around how it all hangs together)

I've putting together a test case app (just to make sure that what I want to do is all going ot work relatively easily), and I've used Erwin's Outlook sample as the basis. First thing I've done is try and port the app to Silverlight, but I can't seem to sort out the toolbar button binding (from the MainUsesCases). The buttons all load fine, but I can't seem to hook the button to the delegate ICommand - I'm using the Commands:Click.Command={Binding ...} approach, but it keeps choking on that.

The error I keep getting is "Unknown attribute Click.Command on element Button"

It's probably (hopefully) a ridiculously simple solution, and I'll look like a goose for not being able to work it out myself, but whatever.... :(

I currently have in the header

And in the toolbar content area (problem child in bold):
<Grid Grid.Row="0" Grid.Column="0" Grid.ColumnSpan="2" x:Name="ToolbarContent" >
            <ItemsControl x:Name="MainToolbar" ItemsSource="{Binding MainUseCases}"
                          HorizontalAlignment="Left" VerticalAlignment="Top" >
                        <Button Content="{Binding Path=Name}"
                                cmds:Click.Command="{Binding Path=ActivateUseCaseCommand, RelativeSource={RelativeSource AncestorType={x:Type ItemsControl}}}"/>
Every thing else is pretty much as is from the sample (however, it should be noted that I have ported the Outlook.Infrastructure app to VB.NET, as I'm a little more comfortable working in it)

- Matt

Mar 11, 2009 at 8:34 AM
Edited Mar 11, 2009 at 9:02 AM
Hi Matt!

One generic problem what is obvious to me is that RelativeSource property does not exists in Silverlight.