Extending common interfaces for view/presenter

Topics: Prism v2 - Silverlight 2
Apr 17, 2009 at 9:39 PM
I seem to have gotten myself into a bit of a bind and was looking for some direction on the approach to take.

Basically I have a master view /w several content regions each represented by a view/presenter.  I have a single controller for the masterView that I use to manage everything.

Anyhow I have created a standard interface for a view / presenter.  In my view I have some standard events that I need/want.  My interface for the view is passed to the constructor of my presenter and I can subscribe to the events I want.  I have a set of standard events that I need to manage for all the different views in a single master view /w a controller.

Everything works great and I can delegate the events as needed up the chain.

My problem is that a couple of my views need some additional events and properties.  So I created another layer of view/presenter.

so I had IView1 & IPresenter1

IPresenter1 has a property
IView1 View {get;set}

and then I do
public presenter(IView1 view)
{
    View = view;
    View.Event1 += ...
    View.Event2 += ...
}

Now I have a more complicated view that I need an additional event so I created another set

IView2 : IView1
    event EvemttHandler <...> Event3

I also created a new presenter IPresenter2 : IPresenter1

I started to put in
new IView2 View {get;set}

so as to 'hide' the prior implemenation ... that didn't work.  When I actually create my real view from IView2 I have to implement both View Properties which I can't do.

I then decided that in my Presenter2 I would just cast my IView to an IView2 and subscribe to the events.  This seems to work and seems okay in my mind but is it asking for trouble down the road?  Sort of seems a bit like I almost tried to merge inheritence /w two interfaces.

public Presenter2(IView2 view)
{
    View = view;

View.Event1 += ...
    View.Event2 += ...
    (View as IView2).Event3 += ...
}