Login screen prior to Shell

Topics: Prism v4 - WPF 4
May 18, 2015 at 12:58 PM
I am fairly new to Prism, however, if the bootstrapper takes care of the IOC container and launches the shell, where do I initialise a login screen and how would that link in? It would need unity to resolve the data service etc.
May 18, 2015 at 3:45 PM
It depends on whether you want the user to see the shell in the background with the login as a pop up over it, or you want only the login dialog and never show the main window if they don't successfully log in. For the former, you can just trigger showing the dialog from the Loaded event of the main window/shell. If the latter, you can wire it into the Boostrapper CreateShell method. The trick for the latter is knowing that you have to set the Application.Current.MainWindow since that drives the lifetime of the application and WPF automatically sets it to the first window you show, which will be your login dialog window.
May 19, 2015 at 3:38 PM
Thanks for the reply Brian,

I am pretty sure I want it prior to the main shell showing, it is a shame because I will have to resolve the dependency on the service layer myself as the unity container does all the resolving in the bootstrapper. Is this normal practice, seems such a struggle coming from a winforms background :-)

Would you put it here

Some code - If success then proceed
         Bootstrapper bootstrapper = new Bootstrapper();
May 19, 2015 at 4:16 PM
Not sure I understand your concern.