RegisterViewWithRegion and viewname

Topics: Prism v2 - WPF 3.5
Sep 1, 2009 at 11:54 AM

I have this code to register a view in a region:

_regionManager.RegisterViewWithRegion("myMainRegion", () => _container.Resolve<ISomeViewModel>().View);

but elsewhere, I really need to be able to switch views by using the view name. How can I set the view name and use the above code?

I tried using

_regionManager.Regions["myMainRegion"].Add(new SomeView(), "myViewName");

but the essential Resolve-ing does not then take place - for example, the view model constructor is never called.

I am new to Prism and containers (Unity), so any help would be greatly apreciated

James S

Sep 1, 2009 at 12:45 PM
Edited Sep 1, 2009 at 12:46 PM

In your view's XAML use x:Name="myViewName"

Sep 1, 2009 at 2:34 PM

Thanks - annoying how one misses the simple and obvious!

BUT - there is still a problem... in the Prism source, in Region.cs, class Region, we have the GetView funtion for getting a named view in the region, with the essential line:

ItemMetadata metadata = this.ItemMetadataCollection.FirstOrDefault(x => x.Name == viewName);

In debug, you can see that x is indeed the right view and a base class does have the name given in the XAML, but x.Name is still null here and so the function reports that the view is not in the region.

Not sure what to do now...

James S

Sep 1, 2009 at 3:13 PM

I changed the above line to:

ItemMetadata metadata = this.ItemMetadataCollection.FirstOrDefault(x => ((System.Windows.FrameworkElement)(x.Item)).Name == viewName);

and it now works (I added an additional GetView function rather than change the original code).

The views, in my case, are dynamically-added User Controls and I did add x:name="NiceView" (or whatever) to the XAML in the user control.

I feel this is but a hack - any other ideas?

James S

Sep 1, 2009 at 3:55 PM

Forest through the trees - been there, done that ;)